CLLA 129th National Convention

Wednesday, Thursday & Friday
May 17 -19, 2023

Swissotel Chicago
Chicago, IL 60601

CLICK ON THE DAY BELOW TO VIEW THE SCHEDULE

Wednesday, May 17, 2023

SCHEDULE

Thursday, May 18, 2023

SCHEDULE

Friday, May 19, 2023

SCHEDULE

Wednesday, May 17

Swissotel Chicago, 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601

Day 1 - Toggle to view Zoom link to attend KEYNOTE on Wednesday, May 17 ONLY!

Dawn Federico is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

 Topic: CLLA National Convention – May 17 – Keynote – ALPINE

Time: May 17, 2023 04:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89922381738

 

Meeting ID: 899 2238 1738

Passcode: 550107

One tap mobile

+13092053325,,89922381738#,,,,*550107# US

+13126266799,,89922381738#,,,,*550107# US (Chicago)

 

Dial by your location

        +1 309 205 3325 US

        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

        +1 646 931 3860 US

        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

        +1 305 224 1968 US

        +1 689 278 1000 US

        +1 719 359 4580 US

        +1 253 205 0468 US

        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

        +1 360 209 5623 US

        +1 386 347 5053 US

        +1 507 473 4847 US

        +1 564 217 2000 US

        +1 669 444 9171 US

        +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 899 2238 1738

Passcode: 550107

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbP90Pnh12

 

Let the Goosechase begin!

CLLA is sending you on a GOOSECHASE! As a special featured attraction during the convention, every registered in-person attendee to this year’s convention will be assigned a randomized team and given the opportunity to compete in a convention-long scavenger-type hunt!

We hope you will join in the fun and make new connections!

7:00 A.M. – 6:00 P.M.

REGISTRATION
ROOM: St. Moritz, Lucerne Level

10:30 A.M. – NOON

BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING 
ROOM: Élevé Riverview, 42nd Floor

NOON – 1:00 P.M.

LEADERSHIP LUNCH
For Region Councils, Section Councils and National Committee Members.
ROOM: Élevé Lakeview, 42nd Floor

1:00 – 1:45 P.M.

MEETINGS COMMITTEE MEETING
ROOM: Lugano, 2nd Floor

EDUCATION COMMITTEE MEETING
ROOM: Bianco/318, 3rd Floor

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE MEETING
ROOM: Neuchatel/315, 3rd Floor

MARKETING COMMITTEE MEETING
ROOM: Rhone/311, 3rd Floor

BOARD OF ASSOCIATE EDITORS MEETING
ROOM: Verbier, Lucerne Level

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS MEETING
ROOM: Arosa, 2nd Floor

1:45 – 2:00 P.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

2:00 – 2:45 P.M.

AGENCY SECTION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Lugano, 2nd Floor

CREDITORS’ RIGHTS SECTION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Bianco/318, 3rd Floor

BANKRUPTCY SECTION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Neuchatel/315, 3rd Floor

YOUNG MEMBERS SECTION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Rhone/311, 3rd Floor

2:45 – 3:00 P.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

3:00 – 3:45 P.M.

EASTERN REGION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Lugano, 2nd Floor

WESTERN REGION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Bianco/318, 3rd Floor

MIDWEST REGION EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Neuchatel/315, 3rd Floor

SOUTHERN EXEC COUNCIL MEETING
ROOM: Rhone/311, 3rd Floor

3:45 – 4:00 P.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

4:00 – 5:00 P.M. CST

5:00 – 6:00 P.M. EST

2:00 – 3:00 P.M. PST

OPENING KEYNOTE
Ethics – Nobody Needs It…Until They Get Caught
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speaker: Dr. Dale Henry, Your Best Unlimited, Kingston, TN

5:15 – 6:15 P.M.

FIRST TIME ATTENDEE’S RECEPTION
Leadership, Mentors and Mentees
ROOM: Currents, Concourse Level

6:30 – 7:30 P.M.

WELCOME RECEPTION
ROOM: Élevé Ballroom, 42nd Floor

8:00 – 10:00 P.M.

WINDY CITY THROWDOWN
Join your sponsors, the Young Members Section for a night of socializing and throwing down with other CLLA members at the Game Room of the Chicago Athletic Association.

LOCATION:
The Chicago Athletic Association, Game Room
12 South Michigan Avenue
312-940-3552

Thank You to Our Windy City Throwdown Sponsors!

Thursday, May 18

Swissotel Chicago, 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601

Day 2 - Toggle to view Zoom link to attend all ALPINE ROOM sessions on Thursday, May 18 ONLY!

Dawn Federico is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

 Topic: CLLA National Convention – May 18 – ALPINE
Time: May 18, 2023 08:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82275330793

 

Meeting ID: 822 7533 0793

Passcode: 731751

One tap mobile

+13126266799,,82275330793#,,,,*731751# US (Chicago)

+13092053325,,82275330793#,,,,*731751# US

 

Dial by your location

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 309 205 3325 US

+1 646 931 3860 US

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 305 224 1968 US

+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

+1 386 347 5053 US

+1 507 473 4847 US

+1 564 217 2000 US

+1 669 444 9171 US

+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

+1 689 278 1000 US

+1 719 359 4580 US

+1 253 205 0468 US

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 360 209 5623 US

Meeting ID: 822 7533 0793

Passcode: 731751

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbnmbucXyG

Day 2 - Toggle to view Zoom link to attend all LUCERNE 3 ROOM sessions on Thursday, May 18 ONLY!

Dawn Federico is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

 Topic: CLLA National Convention – May 18 – LUCERNE 3
Time: May 18, 2023 10:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83237288848

 

Meeting ID: 832 3728 8848

Passcode: 801205

One tap mobile

+13092053325,,83237288848#,,,,*801205# US

+13126266799,,83237288848#,,,,*801205# US (Chicago)

 

Dial by your location

        +1 309 205 3325 US

        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

        +1 305 224 1968 US

        +1 646 931 3860 US

        +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

        +1 360 209 5623 US

        +1 386 347 5053 US

        +1 507 473 4847 US

        +1 564 217 2000 US

        +1 669 444 9171 US

        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

        +1 689 278 1000 US

        +1 719 359 4580 US

        +1 253 205 0468 US

Meeting ID: 832 3728 8848

Passcode: 801205

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kdNCUtX7Bt

7:00 A.M. – 6:00 P.M.

REGISTRATION
ROOM: St. Moritz, Lucerne Level

7:15 – 8:00 AM.

PAST PRESIDENTS’ BREAKFAST (By Invitation Only)
HOSTED BY: Chris Young
ROOM: Élevé Riverview (42nd Floor)

7:30 – 8:00 A.M.

BREAKFAST AND NETWORKING
ROOM: Lucerne Foyer

8:00 – 8:30 A.M. CST

9:00 – 9:30 A.M. EST

6:00 – 6:30 A.M. PST

WELCOME/ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speaker: Jim Kozelek, CLLA President, Weltman, Weinberg & Reis, Co., L.P.A.

8:45 – 9:45 A.M. CST

9:45 – 10:45 A.M. EST

6:45 – 7:45 A.M. PST

2023 LEGISLATIVE FORUM
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Daniel Kerrick, Hogan McDaniel; Jeffrey N. Schatzman, Schatzman & Schatzman, P.A.; Conor Kelly, Webster, Chamberlain & Bean, LLP; Lori Frank, Markoff Law PLLC

   

9:45 – 10:00 A.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

10:00 – 11:00 A.M. CST

11:00 A.M. – 12:00 A.M. EST

8:00 – 9:00 A.M. PST

ENCROACHMENT OF CONSUMER LAWS UPON COMMERCIAL COLLECTION PRACTICES
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Daniel Kerrick, Hogan McDaniel; Lori Frank, Markoff Law PLLC

 

10:00 – 11:00 A.M. CST

11:00 A.M. – 12:00 A.M. EST

8:00 – 9:00 A.M. PST

HOT TOPICS IN BANKRUPTCY LAW 
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speaker: Ronald Peterson, Jenner & Block LLP, Chicago, IL

 

11:00 – 11:15 A.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

11:15 A.M. – 12:15 P.M. CST

12:15 – 1:15 P.M. EST

9:15 – 10:15 A.M. PST

PIERCING THE CORPORATE/LLC VEIL IS A REALITY: YOU CAN MAKE IT HAPPEN
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speaker: Timothy Wan, Esq., Smith Carroad Wan & Parikh

 

MEDIATING BANKRUPTCY DISPUTES: A GHOST-RUNNER ON SECOND OR NEED A NEW GAME?
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Candice Kline, Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr, LLP; Hon. Judith K. Fitzgerald (Ret.), Tucker Arsenberg, PC; Leslie A. Berkoff, Morritt Hock & Hamroff, LLP

 

12:15 – 1:15 P.M.

LUNCH BUFFET
ROOM: Geneva, Concourse Level

12:15 – 1:30 P.M.

WOMEN’S EMPOWERMENT & NETWORKING LUNCHEON
ROOM: Currents, Concourse Level

Help promote a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life.

1:30 – 2:30 P.M. CST

2:30 – 3:30 P.M. EST

11:30 A.M. – 12:30 P.M. PST

WIRE TRANSFERS AND CHECKS: FRAUD AND LOSS– WHO PAYS? 
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Carter H. Klein, Jenner & Block LLP; Beverly Weiss Manne, Esq., Tucker Arensberg

 

HOW TO WIN AN APPEAL – EFFECTIVE PERSUASION TO AN APPELLATE COURT 
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Hon. Joan Feeney (Ret.), JAMS; Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff (Ret.), US Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of IL; Hon. Mary Ann Whipple, US Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of OH

 

2:30 – 2:45 P.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

2:45 – 3:45 P.M. CST

3:45 – 4:45 P.M. EST

12:45 – 1:45 P.M. PST

BEST PRACTICES FOR COLLECTION AGENCIES AND ATTORNEYS  
ROOM: Alpine, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Robert Ash, AMS, a Radius Global Solutions Company; Ravi Batta, Rosenfeld Stein Batta, PA; Bryan Rafferty, Commercial Collection Corp. of NY

    

GET REAL! REAL ESTATE ISSUES IN UNCERTAIN ECONOMIC TIMES  
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Jack Rose, JR2G, LLC; Beverly Weiss Manne, Esq., Tucker Arensberg, PC;
Hon. Donald R. Cassling, US Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of IL

   

3:45 – 4:00 P.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

4:00 – 5:00 P.M.

BANKRUPTCY SECTION GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING
ROOM: Lucerne 1, Lucerne Level

CREDITORS’ RIGHTS SECTION GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING
ROOM: Lucerne 2, Lucerne Level

YOUNG MEMBERS SECTION GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING
ROOM: Currents, Concourse Level

AGENCY SECTION GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING
ROOM: Geneva, Concourse Level

5:15 – 6:30 P.M.

THURSDAY EVENING SOCIAL
ROOM: Lucerne/Alpine Foyers

9:00 – 11:00 P.M.

TAKE A SHOT!
Come have a nightcap, a shot, or cocktail at the Swissotel media room, or, take a shot at Billiards, Shuffleboard, or Darts!

LOCATION: Amuse Media Room, Swissotel Lobby

Friday, May 19

Swissotel Chicago, 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601

Day 3 - Toggle to view Zoom link to attend all ALPINE ROOM sessions on Friday, May 19 ONLY!

Dawn Federico is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: CLLA National Convention – May 19 – ALPINE
Time: May 19, 2023 09:30 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87553556919

 

Meeting ID: 875 5355 6919

Passcode: 737627

One tap mobile

+13126266799,,87553556919#,,,,*737627# US (Chicago)

+13092053325,,87553556919#,,,,*737627# US

 

Dial by your location

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 309 205 3325 US

+1 305 224 1968 US

+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

+1 646 931 3860 US

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 669 444 9171 US

+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

+1 689 278 1000 US

+1 719 359 4580 US

+1 253 205 0468 US

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 360 209 5623 US

+1 386 347 5053 US

+1 507 473 4847 US

+1 564 217 2000 US

Meeting ID: 875 5355 6919

Passcode: 737627

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kcYcZroN

Day 3 - Toggle to view Zoom link to attend all LUCERNE ROOMS sessions on Friday, May 19 ONLY!

Dawn Federico is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: CLLA National Convention – May 19 – LUCERNE 3 & LUCERNE 1-2
Time: May 19, 2023 08:30 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83199607590

 

Meeting ID: 831 9960 7590

Passcode: 344779

One tap mobile

+13092053325,,83199607590#,,,,*344779# US

+13126266799,,83199607590#,,,,*344779# US (Chicago)

 

Dial by your location

+1 309 205 3325 US

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 646 931 3860 US

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 305 224 1968 US

+1 253 205 0468 US

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 360 209 5623 US

+1 386 347 5053 US

+1 507 473 4847 US

+1 564 217 2000 US

+1 669 444 9171 US

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

+1 689 278 1000 US

+1 719 359 4580 US

Meeting ID: 831 9960 7590

Passcode: 344779

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kb9XPjFlT2

7:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.

REGISTRATION
ROOM: St. Moritz, Lucerne Level

8:00 – 8:30 A.M.

BREAKFAST AND NETWORKING
ROOM: Lucerne Foyer

8:30 – 9:30 A.M. CST

9:30 – 10:30 A.M. EST

6:30 – 7:30 A.M. PST

UNRAVELING THE COMPLEXITIES OF CONSIGNMENT AGREEMENTS UNDER UCC ARTICLES 2 AND 9 IN TRANSACTIONAL WORK, STATE COURT LITIGATION AND IN BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS – PART 1
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Hon. Deborah Thorne, US Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of IL; Wanda Borges, Esq., Borges & Associates LLC; Yasamin N. Kaye, Goldberg Kohn; Catherine Steege, Jenner & Block LLP; Gilbert M. Singer, Marcadis Singer P.A.

   

9:30 – 9:45 A.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

9:45 – 10:45 A.M. CST

10:45 – 11:45 A.M. EST

7:45 – 8:45 A.M. PST

UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS OF CRYPTOCURRENCY AND DIGITAL ASSETS
ROOM: Alpine 1, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Owen G. Hare, Esq., Friedman, Framme & Thrush PA; Brad Council, Slovin & Associates Co., LPA

   

UNRAVELING THE COMPLEXITIES OF CONSIGNMENT AGREEMENTS UNDER UCC ARTICLES 2 AND 9 IN TRANSACTIONAL WORK, STATE COURT LITIGATION AND IN BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS – PART 2
ROOM: Lucerne 3, Lucerne Level

Speakers: Hon. Deborah Thorne, US Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of IL; Wanda Borges, Esq., Borges & Associates LLC; Yasamin N. Kaye, Goldberg Kohn; Catherine Steege, Jenner & Block LLP; Gilbert M. Singer, Marcadis Singer P.A.

   

10:45 – 11:00 A.M.

BREAK    Lucerne Foyer

11:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. CST

12:00 – 1:00 P.M. EST

9:00 – 10:00 A.M. PST

GAME SHOW
ROOM: Geneva, Concourse Level

Master of Ceremonies: Timothy Wan, Esq., Smith Carroad Wan & Parikh
Bring your best brain-teasing solving mind for a lively interactive hour of team building and competition!

12:00 – 1:30 P.M. CST

1:00 – 1:30 P.M. EST

10:00 – 11:30 A.M. PST

ANNUAL AWARDS LUNCH
ROOM: Lucerne 1-2, Lucerne Level

The conference wraps up with this annual lunch and awards presentation recognizing service to the CLLA. Join us as we honor Ron Peterson and present him with the distinguished CLLA President’s Cup.

Emory Potter, Hays & Potter, LLP, receiving the President’s Cup at the 128th CLLA National Conference.

2:00 – 5:30 P.M. CST

PROHIBITION TOUR

From the “down and dirty” gangster hangouts, to the “jackets required” establishments for Chicago’s elite, this tour of several local Speakeasies is an in depth look at prohibition. You will learn about the factors that led to prohibition in the first place, the groups that fought for it, the groups that opposed it, how it was ratified to the constitution as the 18th amendment, the problems it caused, the names it created (both famous and infamous), its failure, repeal and lasting impact on the US. You will also learn what the speakeasy actually was, including dispelling the Hollywoodized version many people imagine.

LOCATION: Meet in hotel lobby. Participation is optional. FEE: $175 per person. Fee includes tour, transportation, libations and light snacks. There is a limit of 40 people on this tour.